Light in the Darkness

What’s the difference between content and complacent?

Trying to advance but still working on the basics

Figuring out which side of me is worth embracing

I told God I wanted it all but I’m getting quite impatient

Maybe my happiness is dictated too much by outside forces

But when it comes to the school of hard knocks? I’ve taken courses

People think they can ride me to success like thoroughbred horses

Married to the game but most people get divorces

It’s like I feel a darkness over me, walking around with storm clouds

They’d call me crazy if I told all my thoughts out loud

Harken it back to spring 11, my head is bloody but unbowed

Dealing with dissatisfaction, is it ok to be proud?

Because I look at myself and realize this can’t be the peak for me

I keep my thoughts to myself because I don’t like folks tryna speak for me

I look at my cruses now and they ruined the mystique for me

Would you rather be happy or great? That question comes up every week for me

And I don’t know the answer, to be honest I’m not sure

I told my homegirl how I’m feeling, she said prayer & faith are the cures

Failed so many times I feel like a failure connoisseur

I know I’m down right now, I don’t even want to know the score

Are they looking at me like I’m a bust? Emeka Okafor?

And I know the saying goes, keys open doors

But bricks open windows and opportunities I’m reaching for

Used to be pure, but that was before I went on this tour

People always want to make up, look how feelings get contoured

People rarely tell you what they want, so you’re unsure.

They sell you these dreams, you get caught in the allure

Now you’re just riding around in this world unsecure

Trying to find light in the darkness, working towards heartless

Because if I get played regardless, I got to work on my sharpness

Because people ain’t walk all over me like I’m the carpet

I’m not buying what you’re selling. Choose a difference market.

This entry was posted in 20 somethings, Creativity, honesty, Poems, poetry, self-help, venting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

