Cruel Intentions

Don’t try and finesse me, baby I know the game

The more things are different, the more they stay the same

And this isn’t coming out of a bitter place

But you’re on a crumbling foundation like it’s section 8.

No disrespected intended, no confrontations needed

Trying to find a woman that would love all my pieces

The good and the bad, the strengths and the weakness

They say I’m a dog, but we’re not bringing out the leashes

People trying drain the happiness, we’re bringing out the leeches

Had me on my knees, crying out to Jesus

Asking what exactly I did to deserve it

But I pick myself up, of course no one’s perfect.

Kings of the story, out here dying for glory

The Boy meets world, they got a Topanga for my Cory?

Nothing was the same and of course I took a loss

Wanted to be a king, of course that had a cost

So I silently solider on, carrying all my burdens

Working on my poker face, you can’t tell that I’m nervous

They want a piece of the pie, I just want the pie.

I don’t just have my head in the clouds, I’m trying to own the sky

I been through the pain, took hits to my pride

I have a lot on my plate because I wasn’t satisfied with the sides

So I complained less, and I let that hurt go.

Only the family matters, like I’m Urkel

Can’t let these haters try and feast on my dreams

So I keep my life private, including all the schemes.

Got these folks on my radar, can’t fool myself again.

Because sometimes the worst enemies are your friends.

 

This entry was posted in 20 somethings, Creativity, dating, honesty, poems, poetry, self-help, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

