Who Can Survive in America?

After the verdict was read, i needed time to de-stress.

Maybe instead of a hoodie, he shoulda wore a bulletproof vest

The whole situation really leaves me kind of depressed

Because I feel like civil rights in America just regressed

People blaming Obama, that’s not how the system works

In 2 weeks we’ll probably be more focused on how Miley Cyrus twerks

“Somewhere in America, Miley Cyrus is still twerking.”

Somewhere in America, another Zimmerman is lurking.

Somewhere in America, the angel of death is still flirting

And somewhere in America, another black family’s hurting.

I’m not blaming Caucasians, I want to make that clear

I understand that all white people don’t live in fear

But the reality here, it is very simple, very plain.

George Zimmerman’s actions caused Travyon Martin to be slain

Yes all races and ethnicities need some work, including blacks.

& I don’t need to mention black-on-black crime to argue that.

When do the oppressed fight back? How do we do so responsibly?

The answer escapes me & it’s frankly quietly haunting me

I was prepared last night to have a drunk racist bastard taunting me?

One who felt I was less than because of what he saw on me

Brown skin automatically sets the brain to defend

We’re being attacked on all sides, I don’t know where to begin.

We don’t live in a “post-racial” society.

I know for a fact because we focus on black man’s improprieties

They build you up, break you down, & try to build you up again

They’re like, “Calvin, we need you back so we can kill your ass again.”

It’s hard for me to pretend that I don’t have to work twice as hard

As someone who is lighter but yet I’m the one playing the race card.

My mind speeds like a race car, the past does leave some scars.

And yes, 13 year olds are in Chicago killing each other with AR’s!

I haven’t forgot Troy Davis, I haven’t forgot Emmitt Till

I haven’t forgot Oscar grant and I frankly, never will

If
you don’t learn from your past then you’re doomed to repeat it

And if you look at our past, that means I’m doomed to be bleeding.

Doomed to have my mother grieving, another black boy leaving

Before getting the education that he was desperately needing.

Education’s the great equalizer but they still divide us.

Between the ones who protest peacefully & the ones who riot

We all know something needs to be done, who’s gonna be the ones to try it?

They keep trying to sell us this bullshit, when are we gonna not buy it?

There’s questions that need to be answered, racism is basically cancer

Some of us are still mentally enslaved, who are we calling master?

An educated black man is an endangered kind

I own hoodies and skittles too, but yet I’m still walking around fine

Hopefully we use the anger from the verdict for good, not evil.

Yes, slavery ended long ago but yet, we’re still not equal.

Rest in peace to the 17 year old named Trayvon Martin

The revolution won’t be televised, but maybe it’ll finally get started.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

